Purpose of Instruction

As I begin walking through classrooms my main focus at this time is the purpose of the lesson.  By this, I mean that there should be an explicit and authentic reason for each instructional activity.  My questions and comments will be focused on that issue in most cases.  A clear purpose leads to higher levels of engagement, deeper understanding, and a concrete path to application.  I’m looking forward to seeing those great lessons connected to a clearly articulated purpose that students can understand and articulate.  I’m also eager to have discussions with teachers on how they establish purpose and keep it in the forefront of students’ attention throughout the lesson.

Leave a Reply

